Skip to main content

Vivado Queued Indefinitely (Workaround)

If you are trying to synthesize your project or generate bitstream in Vivado and the program shows that the synthesis is “Queued…” even after several minutes, you may be experiencing a bug that affects a small number of users. As a workaround, you can use a USB stick to hold your project. In order to do so, you must format the USB to be the Linux-native filesystem.

Workaround 1 (preferred)

You can configure the specific run directory in Vivado to output to a local machine drive while retaining your RTL source code in your home directory. You can either use the GUI instructions or tcl intructions. You do not have to do both.

GUI Instructions

  1. Click on the Settings option in the left Window
  2. Select IP.
  3. in the IP cache section change a. Local to Remote in the drop down box b. set the IP_systhesis Cache Location to: /tmp/vivado_net-id
  4. click OK and close settings window
  5. Synthesize your project

This will need to be configured for each project.

step 1

tcl Instructions

In the tcl line at the bottom of your project window enter the following command.

config_ip_cache -import_from_project -use_cache -dir /tmp/vivado_net-id

Workaround 2

Please note that whatever USB drive you complete these steps with will have all files erased.

[!CAUTION] PLEASE BACK UP ALL FILES ON YOUR USB BEFORE CONTINUING.

Instructions

  1. Open the Files application and locate your USB in the sidebar.
  2. Right-click on your USB drive and click format.
  3. Name your USB and select the option “Internal disk for use with Linux Systems only (Ext4), then click “Next”.
  4. Verify your settings, then click “Format”. Once you click “Format”, all data on the USB will be erased irreversibly.
  5. Copy your files to the USB and run Vivado as normal. To locate your USB in Vivado, navigate to /run/media/<your_NetID>/<your_USB>/<location of your project>

[!NOTE] After you are done, you can reformat your USB and select the “For use with all systems and devices (FAT)” option to ensure you can use your USB with other computers. This will also erase all files on the USB drive, so back up anything there before reformatting.